So, I dunno if I mentioned this... but last Sunday (the 6th) we got the call about transfers saying that we would stay together in Caldwell. Woot woot! They told us we would get a call on Monday telling us if we were going to get a third or a trainee.
Monday: No calls. So, just us two rocking it out here in Caldwell. Which made Sister Shell think "Maybe my visa isn't coming soon after all. Oh well!"
Tuesday: We went to the library to print off some things we needed and missed a call while we were there. Well, we called back and it was the mission office elders! The conversation went a little bit like this:
"Hey sisters! We were just wondering- is 6:45 tonight a good time to drop off your third bed?"-them
"....What third bed??" -us
"Ya know, for your trio!" -them
"... We haven't heard anything about a trio..." -us
"Well, I'm looking at the transfer sheet and it says 'Sister Jones, Sister Shell and trainee' for Caldwell." -them
".....uhhhh....."-us
"Call the Assistants to make sure thats right..."-them
So, we did. It went something like this:
"Hey, so, we are just wondering... we didn't get any calls yesterday about a third person or about training, but the mission office elders just told us that their sheet says we need a third bed because we'll be in a trio..."-us
"Serious? You didn't get the call?? Okay, well, Sister Jones and Sister Shell, would you be willing to train this transfer?"- assistants
"Uh, yeah, sure." -us
"Sweet, thanks so much! Sorry it was us extending the call instead of President... He's with the departing missionaries right now.. But I know you'll be blessed for accepting that responsibility!" -assistants
So, yeah, thats basically how it went down. Sister Jones and I had a little freakout attack because suddenly our whole week changed, and we had to go pick up some newbie on Thursday WAY down in Houston. And I just kept thinking "EEP!"
That night, we tried to contact one of our referrals. No luck. But, we decided to go talk to Judy again- the former investigator of the senior couple who told us to come back another time because she was sick- and we had a nice long chat with her. She told us she was laid off 6 weeks ago and took that as a sign that she needed to retire. Then she told us that because she likes our church, what she knows, and she has time now, she wants to come to church! we were like :D She told us that we're the only church that she knows that really practices what we preach! And she said "I dunno if I'll change, but I want to learn more. So I'll try to come on Sunday." We told her the time meetings start and informed her that, as missionaries, we are here to help people like her learn more, that we have a series of 6 lessons that we offer about our church, and would she be interested? "Oh yes, very much! Come by any time!"
ONE MORE INVESTIGATOR FOR CALDWELL! Woot woot!
Wednesday: We had a lesson with Marsha! We asked her how her Book of Mormon reading was coming along, and she said "Oh, psh, thats done!" And we were like :D She said she reallly liked it, and is starting it over. She also said she wants to read the Doctrine and Covenants that we've been talking about, and asked how she could watch General Conference since she missed it. :D
We gave her the info, and taught her the Plan of Salvation. She really liked how we feel about the Fall- that we praise Eve for making the difficult decision that she did make, and that we're grateful it happened. She loved everything we said. We asked her to be baptized and she said "Yes, but probably not until after the 1st of the year. We go hunting every weekend from November to December and I don't want to get baptized and not come to church for two months!"
BATISMO!! She also said that even if we didn't go any farther than the First Vision and the Book of Mormon, she would want to be baptized because she believes both of those things are true, and that they really happened.
MARSHA IS AMAZING! One funny thing she said (we were asking how her husband feels about this) and she said "Frank don't care! He just sits there and watches TV while I read. Heck, I could be reading a terrorist manual and he wouldn't know! Just as long as I don't blow up the house, he's good."
Marsha is great. I like her!
That night we went to bed an hour early because we had to get up at 5 to pick up another Sister (Gregson) who needed to get her trainee, and then head down to Houston and be there by 9.
Thursday: We woke up to a voicemail and a missed call from President Pingree. We called back as soon as it was 6:30, and got a hold of him when we were on our way to pick up Sister Gregson. He told us that there was a sister who had been in a biking area for a transfer but couldn't bike anymore because of tendonitis. He said that she really needed to be transferred to a car area, and felt like we were the right sisters and area for her. Then he apologized for how crazy the communications have been lately, and asked if it would be alright if that happened instead of us getting a trainee. And who are we to argue with what the Lord wants? Of course, we said yes. And continued down to Houston.
By the way, all the elders were super jealous of Antonio.
Anyways, we got the lovely Sister Paddock! She's very quiet but also really dedicated and sweet. I like her. Then, we stayed through the training meeting because Sister Gregson still had to get her newbie, and SISTER KYLES WAS THERE!! My 'mom' was getting another 'baby' :P AND, found out that she's in my district! Which is awesome. They're whitewashing/ Her newbie is a visa waiter for the Interlagos mission in Sao Paulo. So now I can practice Portuguese with her at district meeting!!!
Then, we made the long drive back. And had dinner with Jenn, who tried on a hilarious Halloween costume for us- I'll send pictures. Although I may not have time to today.
Friday- We had a really awesome district meeting. I like all the new people in our district. Its awesome. Plus, its always good to have more sisters!
That night, we ate at Whitney's (Sis Arellano). She wasn't home when we got there, but her brother-in-law let us in. We quickly realized that she wasn't there and went to the backyard to keep rules, and showed Sister Paddock all of Whitney's animals! It was pretty fun. She finally got back with some pizza, and then her slightly autistic boy, James, got stuck in the treehouse they're building because he saw a wasp fly into the ladder and was scared to climb down because he is DEATHLY allergic to them. Never fear, his mom saved the day and he finally got down.
Saturday, we visited with Dan and Margaret for HOURS. It was interesting. Then, Debbie (Dan's sister and Margaret's daughter) came in and we all had a lovely chat. Dan finally cut off his super long ponytail! Woot woot!
Then, we got super sweaty and gross doing service at the Gambles. Their little redhead Henry likes playing tag with me. Oh, and we got to help them with their bonfire! Fun stuff. We had yummy pork sandwiches for dinner. Delicious.
Sunday: Dan said the sacrament prayers for the first time! He stumbled a bit, but he did a really good job. Then, it was like a marathon Sunday. Saturday night, we had been asked to teach both Primary and Relief Society about missionary work. So we did both of course! Jenn was Sister Jones' comp in RS and Sis Paddock came with me. It went really well. We taught their sharing time, and started by asking "What do missionaries do?" Two kids immediately answered "GO ON MISSIONS!!" Yes, children, that's exactly right! Haha so then we told them some specific things, and then talked about how even though its hard and scary to leave home, its a good thing. We leave our families for a little time so that other families can be together forever. Then, I read my badge of honor to them in Portuguese, and had them figure out what it said by looking at Sister Paddock's. Then, I asked them where I should wear my nametag. ("On my skirt?" "NO!" "In my hair?" "NO!" In Jonathon's hair?" "NO!" "What about here?" "YES!") After that, I asked them why missionaries wore it there. "So people can see your name tag when you smile!"
"Exactly! What else? What's it over?"
"Its on your heart!" Then we talked about how we need to be missionaries in our hearts, and how Jesus should be in our hearts just like his name is over mine.
Overall, I think it went pretty well.
Monday: P-Day was boring because we were stuck in Caldwell and couldn't email :P Good thing we had Jenn to make us laugh at dinner that evening!
Tuesday: TEN DAYS!!! AND SISTER KYLES BIRTHDAY WAS YESTERDAY! The big 2-0. AND we went to the temple! It was amazing. I finally got to see the new video and I loved it. I always feel like a princess there, and I always feel so loved. And with the new video, I learned so much more than I usually do. It was amazing. I understood it so well, and it was beautiful. I love the temple!!!
We also gave Elder Stepp (one of our Zone Leaders) and his comp, Elder T(however you spell it) a ride. It was pretty entertaining. What missionaries do to stay sane on long car rides!
Here I am today, frantically typing out an email in hopes to send it off! I dunno if I'll send pictures... Maybe you'll just have to wait until Monday to get those!
Shoutout to Hermana Xonthe for giving my first birthday card! Eu amo voce :)
Tchau tchau!
Sister Shell
P.S. I really feel like I'm leaving for Brasil soon. Sister Jones does too. And so does Sister Paddock. Get ready Brasil, 'cause here I come!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment